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The National City Police Department challenges drivers to “silence” the 

distraction 

 April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month 
 

National City, Calif. — April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month and The National 

City Police Department will be joining law enforcement agencies statewide stopping drivers who 

violate California’s hands-free cell phone law. 

 

During the month of April, The National City Police Department will have additional officers 

working operations looking specifically for drivers on their phones. 

   

Last year, The National City Police Department issued 215 citations to drivers texting, calling, or 

performing another function on their phone. Distracted driving is dangerous, especially when it 

involves a cell phone. According to preliminary data from the California Highway Patrol (CHP), 

66 people were killed and more than 6,500 injured in 2017 from distracted driving-related 

crashes.  

 

A 2018 observational survey by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) on driver cell 

phone use found about 4.5 percent of drivers are still using their cell phone illegally, a nearly 27 

percent increase from 2016. 

 

“One text or call could end it all”, said National City Police Department Sergeant Matt Smith.  

“Your safest option is to stay off the phone when you are driving a vehicle.” 

 

Under the most recent cell phone law that went into effect in 2017, drivers are prohibited from 

having a phone in their hand for any reason and can only use their phone in a hands-free manner. 

The phones must be mounted on the dashboard, windshield or center console, and can only be 

touched once with the swipe or tap of a finger to activate or deactivate a function. First-time 

offenders face a $162 fine. 

 

If you need to make a call or text someone, pull over and park at a safe location. Struggling to 

stay off the phone while driving? Put your phone in a place you can’t reach, like the backseat or 

trunk. 

 

      National City Police Department 
     1200 National City Blvd 

                   National City, CA 91950 

       

 

 

https://www.ots.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/67/2018/11/2018-OTS-Distracted-Driving-Report-updated.pdf
http://gosafelyca.org/cell-phone-law/
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Funding for distracted driving enforcement operations are provided by a grant from the 

California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 

 

                                                                                                     

MEDIA NOTES: To schedule an interview regarding the National City Police Department Traffic 

Safety Operations, please contact Sergeant Matt Smith at (619) 336-4438 or via email at 

msmith@nationalcityca.gov 
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